PDA

View Full Version : Cutting Your Own Hair

A. Correira
May 8th, 2013, 01:17 PM
So, I know that it is about time to get my hair trimmed.... only, I want to do it myself, but I have never done it before.... I need some help. I've trimmed bangs and such but not cut the length (well, not cut it where it looked good) and I have hair shears to cut with.

Another twist is that I want to be able to add face framing layers and maybe a few layers in the back... is this possible?

Normally I would go to a professional place but all the prices here are outrageous! I refuse to pay a minimum of 45 bucks just to get a trim! I don't want it styled all fancy or anything, just cut the way I want! And most places don't really listen that well....

Have any of you cut and layered your own hair?

jacqueline101
May 8th, 2013, 01:50 PM
Some here do the Feye self trimming method.

spirals
May 8th, 2013, 02:25 PM
I've been doing it for at least 6 years. I've done all kinds of layers, but I don't use Feye's method, though that looks good for someone's first time or two. Maybe I'm good at eyeballing; it always comes out even. I'm the daughter of a seamstress, so eyeballing lengths is a talent/skill I've inherited. For face-framing layers I part it how I usually wear it (slightly off-center) and take the sections that fall before the ears and comb forward under my chin. I grab in a flat panel between the index and middle fingers of my left hand. That's how I hold any hair I'm cutting. Once I have it secured so the arrangement of hairs doesn't slip, I can move that hand however I need to in order to cut the ends that hang down. If I'm cutting on a slant, I clamp it slanted and use my fingers as a cutting guide. I guess stylists use a comb to do that. Anyway, maybe later I can post some pics of hand-hold positions. Right now it's oiled and up.

Jenny31557
May 8th, 2013, 02:26 PM