PDA

View Full Version : Skin tone

MoonLightFairy
April 24th, 2013, 02:26 AM
Do you take this into account when dying your hair a different color? I'm pretty lost about this.....wondering how cut and dry it is. I'm pretty darn sure I'm cool, but they say you shouldn't do golden tones :doh: I naturally have golden highlights, my hair was golden when I was younger. And I dyed my hair a goldeny color before and looked fine. Unless I'm getting what is considered gold wrong??
So....is this really something to follow? Or is it more complex than cool or warm?

Neneka
April 24th, 2013, 02:54 AM
You can also be neutral or anything between really cool and really warm. I am no expert in this but yeah, there is more than just two options. There is more about this (it's about seasonal analysis and there is a lot about skin tones): http://www.thechicfashionista.com/seasonal-color-analysis.html

I am kind of lost with this too. I seem to always try the wrong things first. :lol:

cranberrymoonz
April 24th, 2013, 03:25 AM
I'd say look into seasonal colour analysis before you try anything. It is quite complicated, but it's quite accurate, very helpful and a lot of fun!
Colour typing is more than cool or warm. You should also look into darkness/lightness and brightness/softness. Remember that the hair colour that suites your colour type best is your natural colour. Don't go more than two shades darker or lighter or more than one shade warmer or cooler than your natural colour.
I'm not a professional but I'd like to colour type you. You will need to post a picture, though;)

Tristania
April 24th, 2013, 04:37 AM
With me it seems to vary. I'll look yellow-ish one day, and neutral or even rosy the next. Trying to determine my skin tone gives me a migraine.

cranberrymoonz
April 24th, 2013, 05:27 AM
With me it seems to vary. I'll look yellow-ish one day, and neutral or even rosy the next. Trying to determine my skin tone gives me a migraine.