PDA

View Full Version : Is this old damage?

MaryMarx
April 11th, 2013, 08:59 AM
For 1,5 years now I've been growing out black dye, and 2 years ago I stopped straightening my hair.
I have curly hair, but after one nights sleep they're gone and the ends of the hair starts to look... damaged!

Because I had been dying my hair for many, many years, I don't really know how healthy curly hair should look, or atleast not my own.
So, here's some pictures, please take a look and say what you think!
I'm in the 'no trims for 2013' challenge so regardlessly I'm not going to cut, I just want to know. :)

What do you think?
Is it old damage or just brushed out curls?
All the hair with a different colour used to be black for 8-9 years I think.
I have no splits and it doesn't feel especially dry.
Thanks for reading. :o

Pictures!
(Please excuse the greasiness.)

http://i1057.photobucket.com/albums/t399/schakt/DSC09453_zps90bb161c.jpg

http://i1057.photobucket.com/albums/t399/schakt/DSC09461_zps1e89955b.jpg

And this is how it sometimes looks the same day I've washed it:

http://i1057.photobucket.com/albums/t399/schakt/Dec2012_zpsa53f250e.jpg

Kiwiwi
April 11th, 2013, 09:25 AM
I'm not sure.
I guess I'd have to see and feel it in person.
It does look like brushed out/poofie curls. My hair is healthy but when it's brushed out it can look super poofie and therefor damaged, but it's not. So I don't know.

You say you have no splits and it doesn't feel dry. So that's good.

But I think all that dyeing and heat styling must have left some damage. Therefor I wouldn't really suggest to go no trim for a whole year. Hair doesn't just break off cos of split ends. Also when it's just damaged, even when you don't really see it. I suggest micromicro trimmming/dusting every few months.

I'm sorry I am not more helpful.