PDA

View Full Version : Hair emergency coming up! Need advice for after surgery

lunalocks
April 10th, 2013, 04:08 PM
No, I am not having hair surgery. I am having shoulder surgery next week. I am at a loss at how to manage my hair for the month following surgery as I will not be able to use my right (dominant) hand and arm to put it up. DH wants to help, but so far he has not mastered even the simplest bun. I will try a braid (without a tie - I need to protect the ends) and a clip, but I also need to sleep (and I will have to sleep on my back half the time.) Have any of you been through this? How did you manage? I bun my hair every day and every night.

Also, not sure what to do with it DURING surgery. No spin pins allowed. I am considering actually SEWING a flat braided bun in place. At least I won't have to worry about it for a few days. But I've never done that before. Ideas?

Vrindi
April 10th, 2013, 04:37 PM
Sewing a bun is actually really easy. It sounds like a great idea for surgery.

How much hair do you have? Will it fit in an octopus clip? DH should be able to manage that— no pins necessary.

lunalocks
April 10th, 2013, 04:43 PM
36 inches. A clip during the day may work, but I will be reclining and sleeping and can't do that with a clip.

kdaniels8811
April 10th, 2013, 04:53 PM
Braid on top of your head - think of Jeanie on I dream of Jeanie. That gets it out of the way. Best of luck on the surgery.

kaydana
April 10th, 2013, 04:56 PM
Do you have any requirements for how your hair looks during that time?

Depending on the size and your hair type, microbraids or cornrows could last for the entire time you're unable to use your dominant hand and would make looking after your hair during that time much, much easier. You can bun them no problem, and you wouldn't need to worry about detangling your hair or anything like that.