PDA

View Full Version : Hair thickness and layers

W2
April 10th, 2013, 01:44 PM
I have been growing out my bangs for almost 2 years now. It has now passed shoulders. The rest of the hair is a bit longer than BS
I'm beginning to contemplate layers. The shortest being about the bang's length and no lengths taken off.
But if my hair is not super thick, will it then seem even thinner?
I'm also growing out dye so I'm not sure it's the best idea.

Have any of you advices for me?

Sylvestrix
April 10th, 2013, 01:49 PM
I think it really is a personal thing. I have longish layer that I adore when they're down, but they do make updos a proper pain in the bottom, so it depends if you're prepared to beat them into submission a little if you wear your hair up a lot! =] I do think your hair is stunning though, especially in your sig pic! Thud!

ETA my hair is fairly thick though, and the strands are very coarse which I do think makes them more inclined to poke out. I'm not sure what they're like to deal with on thinner hair! So I'm probably not all that helpful here, sorry!

Salmonberry
April 10th, 2013, 02:01 PM
Your hair certainly doesn't appear to be thin. :) In my onion hair isn't "thin" unless it's on the low end of i thickness. And layers can actually make hair seem a bit fluffier and 3-dimensional if done right. I have layers in my APL hair. I've classified myself as ii/m and I get comments on how thick my hair is all the time. I think the extra weight of one length hair has a tendency to pull it down flatter. If your goal isn't to do complex up-dos that require all one length hair, then layers can add a lot of dimension to your hair when you wear it down.