PDA

View Full Version : Hair in the back area is damaged: thinking of trimming.

daredevil14
March 31st, 2013, 05:49 AM
Hey there,

I am a guy with shoulder-length wavy/curly hair, I've been growing up my hair for like 2 years and a half now, I am facing a very specific issue: the hair in my back/neck/inside area is really frizzy and looks like a nest! Despite everything I've done (CO-wash, conditioner only, silicone-free...) and many products I used, such hair doesn't seem to be "treated", rest of my hair is perfectly fine and is pretty curly, I only comb when soaking wet with conditioner in the shower. If I wear my hair down, this area is hidden and everything seems to look good, however when wearing it in a ponytail (I have to do this at work), the damaged nest-like area is clearly visible and is annoying!

Now when my hair is fully wet, the healthy hair strands are totally wet and form large singled-strands of hair, however the frizzy area can be clearly distinguished as the hair doesn't "go" together and it may look/feel dry even when wet and often is annoying when combing! Now I can easily separate the damaged strands of hair from the healthy ones, I had this idea of grouping all the damaged hair intro one large strand and trim it from its root (back of my head), however I am really worried if, by doing this, I will be ruining my hair and giving it a weird look, not to mention taking off some size (not length, since my healthy ends are the longest ones)

Any feedback is much appreciated! :)

melusine963
March 31st, 2013, 06:28 AM
I would try using some oil as a leave-in conditioner. I use coconut oil, and it works great to moisturise my dry, frizzy hair. It's also a great leave-in detangler.

Raging Wolf
March 31st, 2013, 06:29 AM