PDA

View Full Version : Chelating shampoo?

Kherome
March 13th, 2013, 03:32 PM
Can anyone recommend a good chelating shampoo? What makes it different from, say any old SLS shampoo? Thanks

jeanniet
March 13th, 2013, 06:38 PM
Joico makes one that's pretty good. Chelating shampoos are formulated to bind with minerals in your water. In my case, that's mostly iron (well water). I don't use the shampoo often, because I do citric acid rinses and that's a mild chelator. I probably do the Joico a few times a year.

Kherome
March 13th, 2013, 07:50 PM
I ordered a bottle of L'anza sulfate free chelating shampoo. I guess we'll see how it goes! I have well water too.

whylime13
March 13th, 2013, 08:08 PM
I really love Kenra Clarifying shampoo. I've been using it for close to 15 years, usually just once or twice a month I think it's really good at clearing out the buildup from my routine shampoo. Plus it has an awesome grapefruit smell. It does have Sodium Myreth Sulfate, so not good if you are avoiding those.

schweedie
March 14th, 2013, 12:48 AM
Hope it works well for you, Kherome! Like jeanniet I use Joico - we have rather hard water, so I use it maybe every six weeks or so. I really like it, my hair is always super soft after I've used it.

littlestarface
March 14th, 2013, 12:50 AM
How does one know when it is time to chelate? I have very hard water and never done a chelate before. I do use distilled water as last and final rinse.

Mommyof4
March 14th, 2013, 12:56 AM
I'm wondering this too... When do you know?

schweedie
March 14th, 2013, 12:56 AM
How does one know when it is time to chelate? I have very hard water and never done a chelate before. I do use distilled water as last and final rinse.