PDA

View Full Version : Breathing a huge sigh of relief! (Pic heavy)

Naiadryade
February 17th, 2013, 10:37 PM
I've been putting off trimming my horrible split ends for like six months. I last trimmed about 9 months ago or so. The thing is, I wasn't as nice to my hair last summer as I should have been, and by mid-summer I knew I really needed to tend to my splits. But for one excuse or another, I managed to put it off until this past week. My hair was really damaged (just from mechanical damage and dryness), and almost every single hair was split. In those 9 months, I only gained 3 inches of length. To make things even more annoying, all those split hairs are a wild variety of lengths throughout... my overall length was 26.5" (BSL on me), but some hairs only reach my ears, and everything in between.

You can sort of see in this picture how fuzzy the last 6" or so of my hair was:
http://s20.postimage.org/j9m422x7h/027.jpg

The funny thing was, most of the longest hairs were actually the few that were not split. I knew a microtrim would not really help me. I decided a very thorough S&D mission was the only way I could tend to my hair so it would stop breaking off, without cutting back to above APL again. I've been gaining length so slowly because of this, that those few inches are very precious to me!

I'm a kooky spiritual superstitious Moon-worshiper, so I started the mission on Sunday night, 2/10 after the New Moon left is void of course and settled into Pisces. I worked tirelessly and obsessive-compulsively on this all night, for over 6 hours, until the sun was coming up. I needed to work that afternoon, so I quit even though I had only finished the left half of my hair.

Goddess, the splits! This was one of the worst ones, though it wasn't unique in its style:
http://s20.postimage.org/44q04k90d/023.jpg