PDA

View Full Version : Questions about S&D

nikkidondon
February 14th, 2013, 11:11 PM
Hi everyone!
Okay so I have a couple questions since I'm still a newbie here...
So today I was feeling very blah about my hair. It was looking very dry and white dotty on the ends and I was feeling very frustrated with it. I also have layers I am trying to grow out plus two more inches of bleach so the whole thing was a huge mess today and I've been a bit discouraged. So instead of going to the salon and having them whack it all off I S&D for about 30 minutes and got most of the white dots off and splits but I'm kind of nervous. How much of search and destroy is too much? I feel like I get scissor happy when I'm doing it but I'm making sure only to cut the dots, splits, or broken bent pieces. Plus, the bleach parts are the worst but I only have two more inches to go with that so I'm toughing that part out. To make it clearer:

1. Can one ever search and destroy too much? If I see a broken, bent or white dot piece I should be snipping it right?
2. Will search and destroy allow me to keep my length?

I do want fairytale ends eventually.

Thanks for reading the rant!!

Luminaria
February 15th, 2013, 03:44 AM
1. If you search and destroy for damage only, then it's not likely (unless get tons of damage, then maybe). 2. I think it will for the most part unless you have mid-shaft splits/fairy knots.

jacqueline101
February 15th, 2013, 04:37 AM
In my opinion you can't s&d too much the idea is to remove damage. Remember to use sharp shears or other wise you could cause more damage.

nikkidondon
February 15th, 2013, 09:17 AM
Thanks for your answers:) It seems that I keep getting damage in one spot of my hair and that's the part I have left of bleach to grow out so I guess I will just continue my routine:)

trolleypup
February 15th, 2013, 09:22 AM
In my opinion you can't s&d too much the idea is to remove damage. Remember to use sharp shears or other wise you could cause more damage.