PDA

View Full Version : My hair is green! Help!

JadeTigress
February 12th, 2013, 08:12 PM
I dyed my hair about a month or so ago with black Manic Panic over my unbleached dark brown virgin hair. I've never used this particular color before, but I've used other colors of this brand and never had any problems, even with the crazy colors. Well, the black didn't stay in my hair for longer than a week, the color started washing out right away. But even though the black is gone, my hair has a greenish cast now. And not like a pretty green; like a gross pond scum type thing. I've seen it for a long time, but thought because it's so slight that maybe it was just me seeing things. But I had lunch with my mom today, and she asked me why my hair had a green cast, so now I know it's not just me.

Does anyone have any ideas about why this happened? And, more importantly, how can I get rid of it?

Thanks in advance!

Calaelen
February 12th, 2013, 08:16 PM
Lots of black colouring dyes have green undertones, so it is likely the one you used had a green undertone that when saturated wasn't visible. You could try tomato juice, or if you really wanted to a red shade over top to neutralize the green tint. Other than that, all I can recommend is washing, because MP isn't a permanent colour it will eventually fade.

Naiadryade
February 12th, 2013, 08:21 PM
You could dye it with green Manic Panic to make it a prettier shade! :p

(I'm not trying to be cheeky... I just like green hair. :o )

door72067
February 12th, 2013, 08:27 PM
I've used green kool aid powder (unsweetened, a teaspoon or so in about 1/2 deep conditioner, left on for maybe 10 minutes then rinsed well) to tone brassy orange/red hair, so maybe the reverse, orange kool aid powder, will tone green hair?

Allychan
February 12th, 2013, 08:41 PM