PDA

View Full Version : Baking Soda Buildup

joyfulheart18
January 2nd, 2013, 08:39 AM
I have been doing the No-Poo/Shampoo Free Method for a couple of months (Baking Soda for shampoo, ACV for conditioner) However, when I comb my hair I am finding there is baking soda buildup in my hair. I have tried to really rinse it, but it's still there...I'm not sure what to do about it.

spidermom
January 2nd, 2013, 09:01 AM
Try a gentle diluted shampoo wash.

missfaroe
January 2nd, 2013, 09:16 AM
BS and AVC have never worked for me. I am a no pooer myself and I have found out that washing my hair with eggs or with rhassoul clay works much better and makes my hair soft and clean, which BS and AVC never did. it only dried out my hair, and my roots was still over oiled because my scalp was overproducing sebum.
maybe you could try the egg wash? :)

joyfulheart18
January 2nd, 2013, 09:29 AM
How would I do the egg wash? Can I get the recipe somehow?

I would like to stay away from shampoo, because my hair has been much less oily and looks much better in every way since I have stopped washing with shampoo.

joyfulheart18
January 2nd, 2013, 11:06 AM
I was also thinking of maybe doing a sulfate free shampoo once every couple of weeks. I don't want to use conditioner...the ACV rinse works wonders for detangling and making my hair so soft.

spidermom
January 2nd, 2013, 11:07 AM
I agree with baking soda drying things out. It made my hair matt up like felt!

Sillage
January 2nd, 2013, 11:15 AM
I agree with baking soda drying things out. It made my hair matt up like felt!

Seconding this! Baking soda roughed up my hair and made it mat up too. It's got a really high pH which is why I recommend that people don't use it. YMMV of course.

joyfulheart18
January 2nd, 2013, 11:16 AM