PDA

View Full Version : Any Multilingiuals/Polygots/Languagephiles?

GrowingOut
December 31st, 2012, 12:10 PM
I know many of us are from around the world, but I'm wondering, how many languages does LHC know?

And a way to make it fun, how do you say hair in your respective language?

I speak Spanish and Norwegian, so in Spanish we have Pelo. Norwegian, hår.

Let's see how many ways we can say hair!

chen bao jun
December 31st, 2012, 04:15 PM
French - cheveux
Chinese toufa
Russian volos

I'm just studying russian, don't speak it yet

hafattack
December 31st, 2012, 04:56 PM
Studying German! Das Haar

Yozhik
December 31st, 2012, 05:38 PM
Uzbek - soch
(uzun sochli = long hair)

And a small correction to the Russian - volosy (it's referred to in the plural), or волосы.

chen bao jun
December 31st, 2012, 06:16 PM
spasibo, Yozhik!
Thanks. I don't have cyrillic on my computer.
how would you say 'long hair?"

Ligeia_13
December 31st, 2012, 06:17 PM
Just English and Greek for me. Μαλλιά (malia)

Chinese toufa

You're kidding! That in Greek means a chunk of hair, how cool!

Shepherdess
December 31st, 2012, 06:23 PM
I have been trying to learn Hebrew for a few years.
שערות = hair (plural). I'm not sure if I pronounce it right though ("searot" I think is how it's pronounced, I'll have to look it up again).

Then I learned medical terminology (which is based off of Latin and Greek word parts) and trich/o = hair (if that counts anyway). :)

Yozhik
December 31st, 2012, 06:28 PM
Wow - this thread is teaching me a lot! What a great idea, OP. :flowers:

spasibo, Yozhik!
Thanks. I don't have cyrillic on my computer.
how would you say 'long hair?"

Pozhaluisto, Chen bao jun. :)
'Long hair' in Russian is длинные волосы (dlinnyie volosy).

missfaroe
December 31st, 2012, 07:41 PM
Faroese: hár

Danish: hår

DinaAG
December 31st, 2012, 07:51 PM
arabic and english

bekstamonkey
December 31st, 2012, 08:32 PM