PDA

View Full Version : homemade protein treatments or other protein treatments

qijino1236
December 28th, 2012, 02:51 PM
I am just starting a thread to find out what types of protein treatments you use and how have they helped your hair? I have no experience with protein treatments and am wondering if it is for me.
Does the protein treatment that you do leave residue? Does ACV leave residue? I am wondering this because I am trying to do No Water/Sebum Only but I initially want to do a clarifying...then do a protein treatment and/or ACV rinse or neither; it all depends on if those process leave residue before starting No Water/Sebum Only. From what I have found protein treatment should be done after clarifying because after clarifying the cuticles become open?

Sillage
December 28th, 2012, 04:30 PM
I don't know how much clarifying opens the cuticle of the hair* but if you're referencing a post I made about clarifying, protein treatments, and ACV let me be more clear: ACV is supposed to help smooth down the cuticle which is why I do it after the protein treatment. When I clarify I don't know if I'm opening up the cuticle more (I hope not! lol) but I do know that the cuticle is more open than when it's been rinsed in ACV. If I'm not explaining myself well enough, please tell me! :)

As for the protein treatments ApHogee 2 Step has totally changed my hair. Nothing I have done has ever left it as sleek, shiny, and healthy looking as this. K Pak is great but it doesn't produce the same dramatic, lasting results as ApHogee 2 Step. For reference I permanently dye my hair with volume 20 developer which is probably why my hair likes protein so much. As to weather these protein treatments leave residue I guess it depends on what you call residue-- does the protein they leave in your hair count? ApHogee requires that you follow up with a rich conditioner and K Pak feels like a conditioner so I guess they both leave something besides the protein in your hair.