PDA

View Full Version : Benefits of Losing the Layers

SuperLenthMe
December 11th, 2012, 11:32 AM
I have been growing out my hair for about four years now. I've just recently made it to waist. Yay!

I have THICK wavy hair and I've had layers since I can remember. I also have damage on the bottom half of my hair from past lightening but it's not that bad(my hair is super resilient) but still I have more split ends then I want. My layers are pretty grown out, they start just a few inches above my ends.

People on here always talk about how they're trying to get rid of their layers and have a U shaped hemline. I agree that that is a nice look and I am thinking about trying to achieve that. But why do LHCers seem to detest layers so much? Does having a straight(ish) hemline reduce the amount of split ends? What are the benefits of losing the layers once you're hair is considered (somewhat)long? Are there any?

Id appreciate any advice. Thanks!

novemberfoxtrot
December 11th, 2012, 11:37 AM
My layers annoy me when I'm trying to make a nice braid and they kick out everywhere. Now, like you, mine are just a few inches short of my hemline. I'm happy with them there...still look nice when my hair is down and my braid is pretty even.

akilina
December 11th, 2012, 11:39 AM
For me, No layers means my hair will be/look as thick as it possibly can..and that would mean a lot to me since my hair is already fairly thin looking.
After a while I realized that my hair would actually be pretty, and possibly considered thick if It was all one length (but I will always keep my bangs, side part, and face framing!) so now I am on that journey. I chopped off 4 or 5 inches last month and it is a world of difference. I have probably 4 or 5 inches to go until they are gone but I am not willing to chop that short any time soon : ]

millyaulait
December 11th, 2012, 11:46 AM
I am perhaps in the serious minority here, but I love my layers!