PDA

View Full Version : S&D Methods

Xxanderia
December 3rd, 2012, 06:11 PM
Hey all,
Recently I've been noticing I'm having more splits in my hair than usual. I'm pretty sure I know what's causing this though (lack of a good brush/wearing down most of the time.)
My question is that I've never really done an S&D before, and I was wondering what the method to this is. Would I just take a small section and give myself a time limit on it and try to find as many splits I can during that time? Or is there a better way of doing this?

Also, totally unrelated, I do plan on wearing my hair up more to fend off the splits, however I'm a complete newbie when it comes to buns, and I have bsl slightly layered hair. Any ideas of what buns would work for me?

Thanks everyone!

melusine963
December 3rd, 2012, 06:49 PM
S&Ding properly takes many hours (even on my thin-ish hair), so I divide my hair into four sections and S&D over the course of a few days. I'll make one part straight down the centre from forehead to nape, and another from ear to ear. That way it's easy to re-part my hair in the same place later on. I'll start by pinning three sections completely out of the way. Then I'll single out a very thin section from the remaining large section and look through it very thoroughly, starting as high up the hair shaft as I can see. I keep separating out very thin sections to look through until I've thoroughly checked that entire quarter of my head. By that point I'm usually cross-eyed, so I stop for the day.

I would rather S&D very thoroughly over several days than give myself a time limit and allow many splits to escape. To avoid utter boredom, I listen to music or play a DVD in the background. If your hair is dark, S&Ding against a light surface will make the splits much easier to see. If your hair is light, use a dark surface.

jacqueline101
December 3rd, 2012, 07:46 PM