PDA

View Full Version : Length needed to braid?

Manako
August 13th, 2008, 12:15 PM
I couldn't find any posts that answer my question. How long typically do you need your hair to be before you can braid it? One of the main goals I have is to be able to braid my hair--just a standard braid!

I'm not very good at braiding yet, as I have never braided my hair properly before, just ribbons, fabric, and occasionally small braids. So I want to know if its me or my hair that is making me unable to braid. I can probably do a french braid at its current length, but I am curious to know a good length for a standard braid.

Thanks!

burns_erin
August 13th, 2008, 12:20 PM
I couldn't find any posts that answer my question. How long typically do you need your hair to be before you can braid it? One of the main goals I have is to be able to braid my hair--just a standard braid!

I'm not very good at braiding yet, as I have never braided my hair properly before, just ribbons, fabric, and occasionally small braids. So I want to know if its me or my hair that is making me unable to braid. I can probably do a french braid at its current length, but I am curious to know a good length for a standard braid.

Thanks!

For me the length it is now, just past sholder, is the first I can braid it and have it be recognizeable as a braid.

chrissy-b
August 13th, 2008, 12:23 PM
My hair is brushing my collar bone when wet and I can do a small braid.

Manako
August 13th, 2008, 12:31 PM
So I guess I still need an inch or two more, my hair is pretty curly. its possible to braid is a little bit, but it only has 2 iterations so it looks silly.

serenitygal
August 13th, 2008, 12:43 PM