PDA

View Full Version : Water Only?

musicmomma
August 12th, 2008, 04:11 PM
question about the water only method... is it really water only or is it no shampoo? i have some nature's gate conditioner and was thinking once a week would be good for a CO, right? i'm new to this so be gentle with me... thanks so much. :)

Gumball
August 12th, 2008, 04:15 PM
Yeah, water only is pretty much just that. Still if you don't want to stay only WO you can surely put a conditioner wash in the mix now and then if you feel your hair would benefit from it. Really the different possible wash methods are only steps on finding the right path for your hair as each head tends to want to walk down a different one. If only there was a universal "good deal" out there! Haha. Experimentation is always fun though. I'm sure you'll head down a good place and find what works for you! Good luck!

Anje
August 12th, 2008, 04:50 PM
Just another echo that "water only" is really washing with only water. That said, some of us (me, when I was doing it) grab a few other items, such as vinegar to cut hard water buildup, and oil, in case your scalp oils don't make it to your ends. But there are not surfactants or emulsifiers involved, unlike shampooing or CO washing.

musicmomma
August 12th, 2008, 06:10 PM
thanks ladies. i'm gonna take it one shower at a time i think!! :)

Shina
August 18th, 2008, 09:14 PM
Hey I'm trying water only also. I've been wondering if it'll work on my dry frizzy curly hair. Plus I've been really scared of all ingredients in shampoos and conditioners lately. I have no idea when something doesn't have a sulfate, or anything else drying. It's too much to absorb for me as of yet. This'll be my sixth week on WO. I did notice a difference. My hair looks less frizzy. And it's a bit soft. I just hope that the sebum will moisturize my hair itself. That is the point of WO right?

harley mama
August 18th, 2008, 09:23 PM
thanks ladies. i'm gonna take it one shower at a time i think!! :)