PDA

View Full Version : Did a scalp massage and had TONS of shedding

Bookloverlori
September 25th, 2012, 08:24 PM
Is this normal???

I've never done a scalp massage before, or at least, I've never done a scalp massage that lasted more than a few seconds. I probably did about 5 minutes or so, not too rough or too much pressure.

I haven't had that much shedding in YEARS! Did I do something wrong? I'm hoping it's because I didn't wash my hair this morning and maybe because I had my hair up this afternoon, the normal shedding didn't occur. It all came at once during the massage.

I'm a little freaked about it.

sisi33
September 25th, 2012, 08:32 PM
Nope! This is completely normal (at least for me!). I just think that it loosened all of the hairs that were going to fall out anyways. If I don't do a massage for a couple of weeks, then start up again, I ALWAYS get lots of shed hair! Then, the next day, when I do it again, I only get 5 or so (and my hair's been up all day, too). Don't worry, you did good! :D

hairhair
September 25th, 2012, 09:02 PM
Did you turn your head upside down? I have fine-medium hair and I find that this always causes shedding (turning my head upside down with hair loose), apparently due to the tangles or something. As sisi33 says, it could also be natural loosening of hair. I'd try a couple more times, and if it keeps shedding, stop.

On a related note, does anyone know a type of scalp massage that doesn't require turning the head upside down or significantly disturbing the hair?

eros
September 25th, 2012, 11:48 PM
I never turn my head upside down. why would you do that? is it better?
but yeah, bookloverlori, the last time i did a scalp massage i had a huuuuge shed! it freaked me out aswell! i'm gonna try it a few more times and if it still sheds, i'll stop i guess.

kitcatsmeow
September 26th, 2012, 05:44 AM