PDA

View Full Version : opinions on this brush?

bunnylake
September 23rd, 2012, 09:03 PM
Healthy Hair Eco-Friendly Bamboo Ionic Massage Large Oval Brush

http://www.ulta.com/ulta/browse/productDetail.jsp?productId=xlsImpprod4320091

Do you think this will damage hair? It sounds really nice as long as it's used on detangled hair, but I have no experience with any kind of brush other than BBB.

Miss Catrina
September 23rd, 2012, 09:27 PM
Oh! I've been wanting one. :) I think it would be just fine. No capped bristle tips to worry about, and wood distributes sebum, too.

Madora
September 23rd, 2012, 09:42 PM
Do not think it is hair friendly because it has knobs on the end. Zoom in on the picture and you will see what I mean.

Sarahlabyrinth
September 24th, 2012, 01:18 AM
Yes, I see, much better not to have the knobs on the bristles. They can catch and pull the hair.

Miss Catrina
September 24th, 2012, 01:25 AM
I thought the knobs were part of how each bristle was shaped, though, not a separate piece attached to the bristle... really hard to tell in the picture. If they're just filed and sanded that way, it should be fine.

Roscata
September 24th, 2012, 02:42 AM
The brush looks ok, but I wouldn't use it to detangle. I sometimes (read three times in the past 2 years) use a brush like that to massage my scalp, but I use it after I detangle my hair with a wide tooth comb. Also, as a your hair twin bunnylake and fellow wavy I would like to warn you that using a brush may give you big hair, like frizzy hair. I think that if you really want to try it you ought to do so and if you hear your hairs breaking while using it, or feel individual hairs being pulled or something similar then just return it.

Good luck! :)

ETA: If you want a safer option maybe you could consider the Tangle Teaser.

lapushka
September 24th, 2012, 02:43 PM
I wouldn't get it either, because of the ball ends. Your hair can catch on those, and it can make the hair harder rather than easier to detangle.