PDA

View Full Version : Hair Advise: 1b/c, i/11, CO - Frizz or Texture?

Dana
September 8th, 2012, 09:50 PM
I have been COing solidly for about 3-4 months. My hair LOVES it!

I came from heavy 'cone usage, dabbled in BS/ACV, which was too damaging to my hair (or I did it wrong), then I went back to normal shampoo/condish for a while, and now I'm (thankfully!) back to CO.

So here's my problem... After COing the hair at my scalp is wonderfully smooth and shiny. Below my ears, my hair gets frizzy and kind of poofy. It isn't terrible, but it's annoying. Let's say the hair at my scalp is 1/4" "high" and the hair at the bottom might be 2".

Any idea how I can find out if it's "frizz" or if it's my normal texture? And then what to do about it once I know?

I have looked and my hair does not appear to be broken, the difference seems to be a change in texture. My hair has a lot of differing textures after it reaches my ears, but above not so much (a small amount, but not a lot).

The "textured" hair below my ears also seems rather dry and straw-like, even with COing. I condition my hair with a little Biolage Hydratherapie as a leave-in.

I comb through in the shower with a seamless wide-soothed comb. After applying the leave-in, I run a quick brush through it to part my hair and evenly distribute it around my head/shoulders. I then let it air-dry.

I tend to HATE hair around my face/ears (it's too hot) so I put it back in a ponytail most days, or sometimes a clip (I twist it like a lazy french twist and clip).

Any thoughts? Am I being too harsh on my hair? If so, what do you guys suggest I do differently?

If you guys think my hair is damaged/under-nourished, how do I figure out what my hair needs?

If you think it's just my normal texture, is there anything else I can do to tame it? When dry it isn't textured enough to really have a "style".

If I put it back with soft scrunchies in a low ponytail with the scrunchies in 3 places, it tends to calm things down a bit.