PDA

View Full Version : Big chop, incoming!

Peter
September 5th, 2012, 01:09 PM
I've been on the fence since I posted about this a whole year ago, but I think I've finally reached a point where the upkeep necessary for long hair is no longer worth it for me.

I started growing it out as a teenager in Dec. 2007 and was subject to quite a bit of harassment because of it. I persisted and reached my initial goal of waist in Feb. 2010 and got to hip length shortly after. At that point, I decided that any longer would be too much for me, so I've been maintaining at around hip for over 2 years with the occasional trim back to waist.

I guess it's a bit unsettling to see it go because it's a symbol of what it took to get here. Long hair was a huge part of my identity for the past few years but life changes and people change. There's still a part of me that loves how it sets me apart, but my interests have changed and it's become more of a burden than anything else.

I know some people are going to suggest cutting to around APL, but I'd rather not do that. I didn't like my hair at that length since the ends curled in every direction and always looked messy (sigh, 1c/2a). It was just a stage necessary to get to my initial goal of waist and not something I would want long-term, so it's go big or go home. And I think I've made my decision. I'll be cutting it all off and donating it within the next few weeks -- but I've been here more than long enough to keep it far, far away from LoL! ;)

In closing, I am grateful to everyone here who helped me in my journey, but it has come to a close. It was a wild ride. Maybe I'll grow it again sometime in the future, maybe not.

This thread is useless without pics so here (click):