PDA

View Full Version : Things you bought for your hair...

Suze2012
September 5th, 2012, 01:08 PM
...and have ended up using for other things entirely...

I'm pretty new to LHC and only 4 months into co washing..and I've had a few trials and a few errors! :D

In the co washing thread I just totted up how much my monthly spend is since joining here and it's quite a difference to my unhappy pre-LHC hair..and I now have much happier hair! :D

I totted up everything I bought as well as the things which don't work for my hair.

However, Along the way..and thinking about it I have only really had one failure purchase which I am not even sure is a total failure yet as I haven't tried it again recently. My total fail was Tresemme Naturals as it dried my hair out for co washing.
I haven't yet tried it as a moisturiser for my skin though........

My fails for my hair were Aloe Vera Gel - my hair doesn't like it but I'm running really low on my expensive anti-oil make up primer so have been trying it as a replacement this week and it's not too bad to be honest.

My coconut oil was a fail on dry hair but amazing for a deep treat...and I also use it to get my eye make up off and whip a tiny amount over my face to get my foundation off followed by sls free soap.
I also use coconut oil for my nails and my skin..and I deep treat my feet with it mixed with salt to help any hard skin patches from walking everywhere.

I did actually buy honey to cleanse my face with but I'm almost out of it now so just use it if a spot crops up. It's gone a little crystalized too and I don't like washing with it now but may well buy a new pot.

I got grapeseed oil - not good on my hair when dry - but it's good for make up removal too and would probably be ok for a deep treat for hair.

I thought I had bought a cone free condish that was a fail- L'Oreal - my hair didn't seem to like it - but a couple of months later I tried it as a leave in and my hair now loves it!