PDA

View Full Version : Scalp acne? Blisters? What have I done to my head...?

Freija
September 4th, 2012, 07:22 PM
I've never had scalp problems before, ever. Okay, I've been a bit greasy here and there, but I've never suffered from anything awful. Not even dandruff. I did have a bad experience when I tried katam, years ago, though (it made my scalp quite sore, prickly and sensitised), and the same thing happened more recently when I tried a Naked sulphate-free shampoo and their jojoba conditioner. As long as I kept to an ordinary shampoo with sodium laureth sulphate and my beloved Biolage balm, I was totally fine.

I should have known better, I really should, but back in June I started playing around with natural shampoos again. I started to use the Faith in Nature rosemary shampoo, and I alternated with the hemp and meadowfoam one too. Every time I washed my hair, my scalp would prickle and hurt until my hair had dried, and it would be uncomfortable for a while afterwards too. This was when I started getting little raised red bumps on my scalp, which hurt like heck when touched. I carried on with the shampoo (I know, I know, I just kept telling myself that it was natural and good and that I was being pathetic). At around this time, I also decided to strip the last of the faded red Manic Panic dye from my hair, using a UK version of Color Oops. I applied this stuff three times in all, and it made my scalp a bit sore each time, but the last time I used it I left it on for two hours and my scalp felt downright blistered afterwards. My hair, incidentally, was completely unbothered(?!).