PDA

View Full Version : CO washing transition period?

T.J
September 2nd, 2012, 03:21 PM
Hi everyone. Still a bit of a newbie here, so apologies if this somehow winds up in the wrong place or something like that :o

I recently started conditioner-only washing. I'm aware that there is a "transition period", but I was just wondering

a) How long this period lasted for any other members when they started and
b) your experience within this period (how your hair felt, etc).

My hair currently feels oily, even though I CO'd just yesterday :(. I'm really hoping this is normal, as I really want the CO method to work for me.

Any advice? TIA :flower:

katfemme89
September 2nd, 2012, 03:28 PM
What kind of conditioner are you using? A too-heavy conditioner could be the culprit.

T.J
September 2nd, 2012, 03:35 PM
What kind of conditioner are you using? A too-heavy conditioner could be the culprit.

I used the Garnier Sleek and Shine to do the actual wash, and then the Tresemme Naturals as a conditioner

lmfbs
September 2nd, 2012, 03:44 PM
I didn't have any transition period at all. I went from daily washing with S&C to CO only every second day, and now can stretch washes to 7-10 days.

My hair felt different - maybe heavier and less squeaky clean, but it wasn't oily.

Did you clarify before you CO wash? I think Sleek and Shine has amodimethicone in it, which can build up very quickly. Usually, CO washers use cone-free conditioners (though personally I use light cones when CO washing without a problem).

T.J
September 2nd, 2012, 03:53 PM
Did you clarify before you CO wash? I think Sleek and Shine has amodimethicone in it, which can build up very quickly

Hm, well, I have checked this one, and it hasn't got any cones that I can see. I'm in the UK, and I thought the Sleek and Shine was supposed to be the equivalent to the US Repair and Shine, which didn't have any cones in it :confused: