PDA

View Full Version : Layers and braids

greywolf
August 31st, 2012, 01:51 AM
Are layers and braids together just not meant to be? I love my layers, but I have always wanted to learn how to braid, and I recently started practicing and have found that layers and braid just don't work out. Is there any way around this or do I just have to choose which one I like better?

bratz81
August 31st, 2012, 01:56 AM
I have layers that I'm growing out - personally the only braid I can do that looks ok without too many layers sticking out is a French braid. I can also do twin English braids for the gym with a longish 'tail'.

However, my hair is between APL and BSL, and my layers are just above APL so there's a decent difference. It might depend on whether your layers are longer, or less difference between the length of them and the length of your hair?

greywolf
August 31st, 2012, 02:24 AM
My shortest layer is above APL and my hair is nearly at waist length right now. *sigh*

DarkCurls
August 31st, 2012, 02:41 AM
My shortest layer is above APL and the longest is past waist, so that's about the same, right? I braid my hair all the time. I love the look of braids. If I'm concerned about the layers sticking out, I twist the strand whenever I see one about to poke out before crossing it over, so the pesky layer is on the inside and can't poke out. That, and oiling it -- any oil, really -- helps.
But I'm growing out my layers so I can get braids with minimal taper. ^^ I just hate that about my layers, how they make my braids look so skinny.

greywolf
August 31st, 2012, 02:45 AM
I'll have to try that. thanks!

MonaMayfair
August 31st, 2012, 05:03 AM
I have long layers and wear braids a lot. I find the only solution (apart from pushing the sticking out bits back in) is to re-braid several times during the day.
I prefer this inconvenience to not having layers.

Madora
August 31st, 2012, 08:04 AM
Braiding layers depends on the number of layers and the length.