PDA

View Full Version : 2 years of virgin growth - need advice

thirstylocks
August 30th, 2012, 10:38 PM
http://i45.tinypic.com/2nvs86d.jpg

Hey all. This is what my hair looks like - straightened for a special occasion. I have been growing bleach out for 2 years exactly and I had to cut off a LOT of hair - I have a few inches left at the bottom. My hair is REALLY dry so I use natural, non sulfate, cone free products and I use heat very rarely.

Even so, my hair needs a haircut. As you can see, there is a strip of hair that is shorter from when I lost my temper and almost hacked off my hair. I have APL hair (at its best) and I think the virgin hair is up to my shoulders. I want to get rid of these layers, but how can I do it without cutting off hair ?? Should I add even more layers? Should I hack it off to my shoulders (I really do not want to) or should I not cut it and risk the damage spreading up the hair?

TheWhiteRabbit
August 30th, 2012, 10:40 PM
I would suggest maintaining at APL with trims until the layers even up. It takes longer than one big cut but you wont get discouraged about your growth progress as much as if you just cut it all off at once. That is just one of many options.

ETA: I would not suggest adding more layers if you do not currently like layers in your hair.

thirstylocks
August 30th, 2012, 10:43 PM
When I get the trims, do I also trim the short layer?

Deborah
August 30th, 2012, 10:50 PM
When I get the trims, do I also trim the short layer?

No. Or your problem will just continue. Let that shortest part catch up with the rest. If it were me I'd trim one or two inches off the bottom only, then trim just the bottom regularly until the rest catches up, and it's all one length. From there you can grow to your heart's content.

Good luck! :)

vanillabones
August 30th, 2012, 11:03 PM
I am in the exact same boat, I guess I should just cut the rest off... but I want to keep growing! I figure I'll maintain APL :( and get a good trim towards winter.