PDA

View Full Version : Complete Newbie. Please help! I want to know everything!

DggydgJill
August 30th, 2012, 09:39 PM
Copied and pasted from the "New" section. :)

Hi!

I have been lurking off and on for about a year now, and I finally figured out how to post today!

My hair history:

About 2.5 years ago, I got a perm put into my hair to make it very curly all over. Since then I have been growing the perm out. That is the only chemical "thing" that has ever been done to my hair--I've never dyed it, high-lighted, etc. I got pregnant in December of 2010 and my daughter was born in August 2011 (she just had her first birthday!), so during and since then I have been taking prenatal vitamins. In May of this year (almost 4 months ago), I cut off ALL the dead perm ends, leaving a blunt, straight cut with all of my hair (except a little side bang) shoulder length. My hair is fine and tangles easily. It is fairly dense (meaning I've got a decent amount of it, but each strand is fine) and straight. I have a slight overall wave, especially with it at my current shoulder length, but it is by no means curly. It's just straight.

ANYWAY, I am wanting to grow all my hair out to be at least waist-length. I am open to any and all tips, advice, comments, etc. I have NO idea where to start! Are there any shampoos or conditioners you would recommend? Brushes? I should get a satin/silk pillowcase too, right? Anything else?

I hate to sound like such a "newb," but I really don't know where to begin! What are some hair care routines you would recommend? I wear it up in a clip almost everyday to keep it out of the way, and I've read that is good to do. Any other suggestions?

Thank you so much! :)

SerinaDaith
August 30th, 2012, 09:43 PM
Congratulations on the baby girl! In so far as hair care my hair is probably just about as far from yours as is possible, I do love my satin pillow case so I would say that it would be a great start for you!

Madora
August 30th, 2012, 09:54 PM
Welcome!