PDA

View Full Version : Deposit-only dye: experiences & recommendations, please

Panth
August 30th, 2012, 11:48 AM
I've been considering putting some bright deposit-only dye over my blonde hair without bleaching it. Possibly green or green+other colours, seeing as I like green and fear blue would just look green anyway when done over blonde. However, I'm a complete novice at this sort of thing. So, I'd like to hear from anyone who has used deposit-only dyes, particularly without bleaching. Questions include:

What colour/brand did you use?
What method did you use to put it in (e.g. times, etc.)?
How much did you need (and what is your length/thickness)?
How long did it last (and what is your normal washing method)?
Did you experience any damage?
How difficult and/or messy was it to put in?
Did it make a mess subsequently when washing?
Did you have multiple colours at once, and if so how easy was it to put in and how much bleeding/blending did you get when washing?

My main worries are that it would damage my hair or that it wouldn't come out. I'm ok if it lasts up to maybe 6 months but beyond that I'd want it out for reenacting in the summer.

I'm also a bit worried about how much extra care I'd need to either keep the colour for more than a few weeks or prevent the colour from dripping out whenever my hair got wet - I have no experience with this and so no idea of what to expect, but I'm generally a benign neglect sort of person so much extra fuss and I'd just not bother.

EDIT - I have never used any sort of dye ever. So I have absolutely no idea how messy dye is in general. Mess is quite a consideration as I'm in a quite nice rental property - if I can't bleach any drips out of the sink/shower or if the run off while washing stains my shower this is not an option.

EDIT 2 - also to point out, I'm currently at fingertip...

Loviatar
August 30th, 2012, 11:59 AM
I havent used green but I have used red, pink, purple and black deposit only dyes.