Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: haircare on a tight budget

Length
    10/17/40
    Type
    4b/C/iii

Default haircare on a tight budget

Hello I'm a newbie.What is your low budget haircare routine. I'm low on cash and would like to know from you, how do you take care of your hair with few resources?

≈ωаѵєs оŋ τнє оcєаŋ≈ xoxophelia's Avatar
    Length
    26"/35"/waist
    Type
    2b/2c/M/ii/iii

Default Re: haircare on a tight budget

This is an article I wrote. I'm not sure if you can currently read them so I will just paste the whole thing for you.

Are you worried you won’t be able to have long shiny locks without the aid of expensive salon products or the multitude of options in stores? This guide will help you to start growing your hair while shrinking your expenses.

First, let’s start by covering what many consider to be the essential products.

note: this is meant as a beginner’s comprehensive guide to savings and will not cover alternative cleansing methods

Shampoo: This is one area where if you are like many LHCers you do not have to be too careful. Many people dilute their shampoo for it to be less damaging, only shampoo the scalp, use a tiny bit of shampoo infrequently, or a combination of any of these hair washing methods (while others do not use shampoo at all). Expensive brands, such as Biolage, have products that can be used frugally if one takes into account that the cost can be spread over a longer period. But what are we looking for in a shampoo? Something cleansing, gentle enough to not inflame frizz or damage, and for many cone and SLS free. While this is one area it can be OK to splurge, there are cheaper options that can fulfill these needs. I will start with a few favorites to get you started.