Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I Thin My Hair at the Salon... is That Bad?

Length
    BSL/TBL/TBL
    Type
    2b/M/iii

Red face I Thin My Hair at the Salon... is That Bad?

I'm sorry for asking so many questions! I'm still a newbie, after all.

Whenever I go in to get a trim (usually every 6 months), I re-layer my hair to encourage wurliness, and I ask the stylist to thin out my hair. I do this, because I have LOTS of thick hair and it is normally very poofy and frizzy. Thinning it out makes it so that it looks like I have less.

(In case for someone who doesn't know, "thinning" is usually done by combing a razor through hair and cutting it out at random. This can also be done with scissors, but it looks more natural with a razor.)

After reading and learning so much on this forum, I'm starting to question everything I do to my poor hair. So I felt like I should ask, is this okay to do? Or rather, is this harmful to my hair?

Any advice, tips, alternatives, and information is greatly welcomed and appreciated!

Sometimes you need to go crazy to stay sane.

Length
    chin/33/TB
    Type
    2b/2c/M/ii/iii

Default Re: I Thin My Hair at the Salon... is That Bad?

I don't see anything wrong with thinning out your hair, if that's what you want to do. I'm very much against it for myself, but I don't know how it would hurt your hair. Others may know more about this. Such as are scissors or razors better. (I would guess scissors might be better for your hair?) However, as far as the poofiness goes, thinning can add to the poofy since when those thinned out hairs grow back they could seem poofy/frizzy, whereas if you keep it long (and this takes time) the length will pull the poof down.
    Last edited by prosperina; August 7th, 2011 at 11:27 PM. Reason: typo

Length
    25.5/25.5/30
    Type
    2a/F/M/ii

Back it the day, the razor on my layers used to shred my hair into splits. I wouldn't let one near my hair.