Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: CO washing transition period?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default CO washing transition period?

Hi everyone. Still a bit of a newbie here, so apologies if this somehow winds up in the wrong place or something like that

I recently started conditioner-only washing. I'm aware that there is a "transition period", but I was just wondering

a) How long this period lasted for any other members when they started and
    b) your experience within this period (how your hair felt, etc).

My hair currently feels oily, even though I CO'd just yesterday . I'm really hoping this is normal, as I really want the CO method to work for me.

Any advice? TIA

Length
    22"/30"/Term
    Type
    2b/M/C/iii

Default Re: CO washing transition period?

What kind of conditioner are you using? A too-heavy conditioner could be the culprit.
    "Never worry about numbers. Help one person at a time, and always start with the person nearest you." -Mother Teresa Buy some of my hand carved hair sticks in my Etsy shop! And be sure to watch my hair in action on my youtube

What kind of conditioner are you using? A too-heavy conditioner could be the culprit.
    I used the Garnier Sleek and Shine to do the actual wash, and then the Tresemme Naturals as a conditioner

Length
    24BSL/35TBL/42 CL
    Type
    2b/2c/M/C/ii/iii

I didn't have any transition period at all. I went from daily washing with S&C to CO only every second day, and now can stretch washes to 7-10 days.

My hair felt different - maybe heavier and less squeaky clean, but it wasn't oily.

Did you clarify before you CO wash? I think Sleek and Shine has amodimethicone in it, which can build up very quickly. Usually, CO washers use cone-free conditioners (though personally I use light cones when CO washing without a problem).
    See the evolution of my hair over the last two years.