PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here. Afraid henna will release my curl? Experiences?

CurlyCap
December 1st, 2011, 09:23 PM
I really want to try henna. It's just curiousity

I have two main concerns:
1. It will change my hair color. I have very dark hair and want it to stay dark brown, practically black. I asked about this in another thread.

2. I don't want to loosen my curl! I know a lot of type 4 kinky/curly girls use henna to loosen their curl. That scares me. I just wanted to know people's experiences.

jesis
December 1st, 2011, 09:27 PM
Using henna did loosen my curl a bit for the first while after I used it, but it went back to normal after that. As long as you wash all of the residue out I think you will be fine.

If you don't want your hair to change color I wouldn't particularly recommend henna. It will probably add red to your hair, but I'm not entirely sure!

HTH!

owlathena
December 1st, 2011, 09:31 PM
Henna demolished my waves. I used to have deep waves and a couple ringlets, now I have no wave or barely a slight wave (but bunning gives me pretty deep waves). Thats just my experience though, others didnt loose their curls at all. It might not be worth the risk though, if you really dont want any loosening.

battles
December 1st, 2011, 09:51 PM
I'm not sure, but maybe cassia would be a better idea for you? :)

Here's the cassia thread, if you're interested.

http://www.longhaircommunity.com/forums/showthread.php?t=406

irishone
December 1st, 2011, 09:51 PM
I have dark brown 3B curls. Henna did release my curls for about a week and then I got most of them back. I then did an Amla treatment and not only are duels back to normal, but my hair it SO soft and no tangles for the first time in my life. Next time I Henna I will add some Amla in the mix.
I used Twilight Henna, and while you can't see the red indoors, I have a very red halo when I am outside. I just tried a Henna/Indigo mix on some test strands and there is no red at all.
Hope this helps.

Anje