PDA

View Full Version : Who struggled with wanting to give it the chop?

Isala
November 25th, 2011, 07:15 PM
Okay...
I've been growing my hair for about two years. I'm very moderately into it. I don't do much fancy stuff in terms of styles and care rituals- but I have this idea in my head of me, with one long, beautiful braid down my back. This, in my head, would make me a magical, special princess and I want that!

My SO is attracted to bobs! I am struggling with being happy with the way I look, and want to do all I can to be most attractive to him.
Let me be clear: he does not pressure me or make me feel bad EVER! This is just how I feel.

I have the idea that if I have short hair, I will appear more professional, confident, perhaps more attractive.

And my hair, sometimes I hate it. It is such a huge pain. I shed all over, washing is a pain, and I've got layers that make braiding not work so well.

Given all this, I headed to a generic salon, determined to give it the chop- and started crying. Yes, crying at the idea of losing all the strands I have lovingly cared for and nurtured for two years.

I really want to cut it. It makes sense to cut it. Given the pros and cons, I should CUT IT OFF!

But I'm afraid I can't bring myself to do it.

Has this happened to anyone else? I just don't get it. It's just hair... but... sigh

I just don't know how to cope.

invisiblebabe
November 25th, 2011, 07:27 PM
Emotions are indicators, and your emotions seem to be indicating that you should not cut your hair :) So I'd listen to that.

From your profile picture, I think that long hair suits you better than a bob would.

Amber_Maiden
November 25th, 2011, 07:31 PM
I've been through that, but mainly because of the henna in my hair wanting my hair to be fresh and natural again. My colour is basically the same colour as the henna in it, before I used indigo, it's just that I want my natural colour... It's very hard not to chop, but I know I'd be unhappy if I did.