PDA

View Full Version : How to achieve a WARM black?

helenec
November 10th, 2011, 02:36 AM
Hi all I'm new to this great community :)

I've been reading here for a few days and I'm afraid I'm addicted

In my recent process of going natural overall I'd like to give up chemical dyes and go Hennindigo.

So, I've ordered Yemen Henna, Indigo and Amla as per various recommendations around here and I'm waiting for them to arrive.

My natural hair is ashy-mousy-brown with orange undertones and I'm very pale with freckles and hazel green eyes. I have been dyeing my hair jet black for the last decade but because of my undertones I could never achieve dark color for prolonged period, it always faded back to ashy brown. Also I've been told by many hair stylists that I have stubborn natural hair pigment that won't hold color for some reason, i.e. there is an orange strand in the front that never took the black, no matter how long I left it on.

I would like to achieve a WARM burgundy-brown-black without blue or orange in it but more of a cooler dark burgundy. It is important that there will be no blue in it as blue undertone in my hair makes me look ill and orange washes me out.

I would really appreciate your kind advice on the correct proportions of henna/indigo/amla I should use.

I'm completely OK if I get darker than expected as long there is no blue or orange.

Thank you very much!

Catia
November 10th, 2011, 08:18 AM
My first thought would be to do two-step for black but to henndigo for your second step instead of pure indigo.

Is there any therapeutic reason you want amla in your mix? If you only use ~ 1 T. in your henna it is a great acid but any more may push it cooler. You want your red as vibrant as possible to warm up the black.

If two step doesn't appeal to you you could try henndigo straight up, but if your hair is obstinate, two step is probably the way to go. My white hairs just spit out henndigo with a chuckle. Henna first makes them submit ;)