PDA

View Full Version : Henna strand test - didn't take :(

infinity_girl
October 21st, 2011, 02:33 AM
I did a strand test with some Mehendi henna yesterday and it doesn't seem to have taken at all. I asked my husband this morning if he could see the strand and he said he couldn't. Neither could I :(. I mixed it with lemon juice and left it overnight as per the instructions and put it on for 2 hours. I have about 6-10 inches of virgin hair and the bottom 10 inches are hair that I dyed a sort of rustic red with a box dye a couple of years ago (but I had been dying my hair red for quite a few years with box dyes).

Why would the henna not have taken? Also I am a bit worried that if it does take, then the bottom section with the box dye residue will be a bright orange and the top will be a more muted auburn. What do I do? I don't want to cut any hair and I don't want to damage the virgin hair. I just want it to be all one colour (preferably a henna rustic red).

Roscata
October 21st, 2011, 01:41 PM
Hello! Sorry you're having trouble with henna. Some hair is resistant to coloring, some hair is resistant to henna. I'd say try leaving it on the test strand for longer, like 6-12 hours, and see what happens then. Good luck! :D

ETA: Also try looking at the strand in sunlight. Henna really shines through in sunlight.

lokiveil
October 21st, 2011, 04:16 PM
infinity-girl...... The henna may have not actually had dye release when you out it on. If you notice, a lot of the women here who mix their henna with lemon juice will let it sit for 8-12 hours..... The time really depends on the temperature of your house. It could very well be that the henna dye released after you had already washed it off :(