PDA

View Full Version : I'm a noob, so here's some dumb questions!

snakewitch
September 23rd, 2011, 05:23 PM
How do I mix henna? Is the acidic stuff necessary? Do I need to wait for dye release?

How do I mix indigo? Just water, or...?

Is 2.9% lawsone content enough to leave a permanent dye in my hair?

How can I make sure that my henna will stay? And my indigo? Because last time I hennaed my hair, it washed out... I used stuff from henna hut. :/ This time I have all of my stuff from mehandi. Infact, I'd like to know some reasons as to WHY it didn't stay...

I'll definitely think up more questions later... I really just want to get this right on my first try, and I feel like I have no idea what I'm doing.

I don't quite know why I feel like I need to hear it from more than one source, but I do. Sorry, lol.

Isilme
September 23rd, 2011, 05:37 PM
There's no need for any acid really, you just mix the powder with either conditioner or water until it reaches the consistency you want. Or you can just add a bit of henna powder to conditioner or a deep treatment, like say, a tablespoon for a henna gloss.
If find that mixing with warm water and then letting it sit for say, half an hour is sufficient, but other people mix it with cold water and let it sit for several hours before applying it to the hair. You just have to try and see what fits you the best!

You mix indigo just as you do with henna, only you don't use acid and don't let it sit because indigo demises fast.

There may be several reasons that you henna fade, porous hair can be one. Or you didn't let it sit in your hair long enough, or you let the mix sit in it's bowl too long. Maybe you did a henna gloss? They often fade.
Just never count on henna fading, it can be very permanent. Often though, with repeated applications it will stay.
Good luck!

mrs_coffee
September 23rd, 2011, 05:40 PM
How do I mix henna? Is the acidic stuff necessary? Do I need to wait for dye release?