PDA

View Full Version : I Thin My Hair at the Salon... is That Bad?

Mingle
August 7th, 2011, 11:09 PM
I'm sorry for asking so many questions! I'm still a newbie, after all. :rolleyes:

Whenever I go in to get a trim (usually every 6 months), I re-layer my hair to encourage wurliness, and I ask the stylist to thin out my hair. I do this, because I have LOTS of thick hair and it is normally very poofy and frizzy. Thinning it out makes it so that it looks like I have less.

(In case for someone who doesn't know, "thinning" is usually done by combing a razor through hair and cutting it out at random. This can also be done with scissors, but it looks more natural with a razor.)

After reading and learning so much on this forum, I'm starting to question everything I do to my poor hair. :confused: So I felt like I should ask, is this okay to do? Or rather, is this harmful to my hair?

Any advice, tips, alternatives, and information is greatly welcomed and appreciated! :D

prosperina
August 7th, 2011, 11:27 PM
I don't see anything wrong with thinning out your hair, if that's what you want to do. I'm very much against it for myself, but I don't know how it would hurt your hair. Others may know more about this. Such as are scissors or razors better. (I would guess scissors might be better for your hair?) However, as far as the poofiness goes, thinning can add to the poofy since when those thinned out hairs grow back they could seem poofy/frizzy, whereas if you keep it long (and this takes time) the length will pull the poof down.

Flossy
August 7th, 2011, 11:34 PM
Back it the day, the razor on my layers used to shred my hair into splits. I wouldn't let one near my hair.

If you like it, and your hair is healthy and you are happy with it, then I can't see any problem!

christine1989
August 8th, 2011, 12:23 AM