PDA

View Full Version : Loose, undefined curls?

Enrapture
March 1st, 2014, 11:56 AM
Hello!

I've been struggling with my hair for quite a while. My hair can beautifully create S-shaped curls (not tight ones, but not loose either) ,but they are always falling out while drying hair. And i end up with some straight, some curly,some wavy hairs. I don't know how to maintain it. I've been doing heat-free curls overnight for past 2 years, but I am sick of it and want to wear my natural hair texture.
If I can get some pretty curls in the evening naturally( i always wash my hair at night), then i don't know how to not let them fall overnight. If i leave it out, it simply straightens, if i leave it in braid, hair becomes very wavy. My hair takes any form easily - can straighten easily and curl it with no problem (without heat)
I used to have more curly hair, now it looks more wavy. :(

Do you have any suggestions how to define my curls more? I've been thinking about using Amla on hair. I've seen some good reviews here.

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3682/12860515383_b51106a52e.jpg this is now (still slightly wet)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7316/11757605824_e940d822ae_n.jpg and this was when i had a little more definition and used gel

P.S.what could be my hair type?

sumidha
March 1st, 2014, 12:15 PM
If you wash your hair at night you could 'pineapple' or 'plop' your hair overnight while sleeping, that would probably help keep the curls intact a little longer? And amla does definitely increase curl. :)

Links: http://www.naturallycurly.com/curlreading/kinky-hair-type-4a/how-to-pineapple-your-hair

http://www.wikihow.com/Plop-Your-Hair

Enrapture
March 1st, 2014, 12:25 PM
If you wash your hair at night you could 'pineapple' or 'plop' your hair overnight while sleeping, that would probably help keep the curls intact a little longer? And amla does definitely increase curl. :)

Links: http://www.naturallycurly.com/curlreading/kinky-hair-type-4a/how-to-pineapple-your-hair